Spooky research and Michael Jackson’s ghost…

8 Mar

Every now and then, my absolute love of all things REALLY SCARY takes over. I’ll be reading, or playing guitar, or eating pizza when all of a sudden I’ll get the urge to drop everything and google things like ‘ghosts’, ‘haunted houses’ or ‘poltergeists in Peterborough’. I can’t explain it…perhaps it’s a spirit in me that makes me do it. I’ve always just been obsessed.

I used to spend ages on the ouija board when I was 17. My friends in Spalding and I became rather good mates with a dead man from Arizona called Edward Beck. He followed me around and eventually appeared in my dreams – I’m not even making this up! Once my mum sat there with a notepad and wrote down every letter he spelled out. He’d even slide the planchette from H to A really fast, like he was laughing with us: HAHAHAHA! I think about him all the time. I still go and see every psychic I can and ooooh, I spend HOURS on my iPad, browsing the real life scary stuff on the Ghost Stories app (you should all get it, if you haven’t already. It’s worth every penny! Read it in the dark to ensure you see ghosts in every shadow and you’ll dream truly excellent, terrifying dreams to bore your mates with later!)

Anyway, today after reading something vague on the topic of a haunted home, I googled ‘poltergeists in Peterborough’ and found this awesome show I’d never heard of before, called Rescue Mediums. It’s basically a British program that follows two quirky, real life mediums to random haunted houses, where they go about solving mysteries and banishing sprits. I love it. I’m addicted! I’ve watched like, ten in a row. One episode made me think about a story my friend Stacey told me, about her trip to Maitland in NSW. She got forced out of a house by a ghost! Mental! She didn’t see it, she just felt it. I really wanna see a ghost though. It’s on my “things to do before I die” list. Consequently, becoming a ghost is obviously on my “things to do once I’m dead” list, as is “sleep next to Russell Brand”, as he’ll never let me as long as he can see me.

According to my research, most ghosts live in Europe and the UK… I’m guessing because they’re older places. It’d make more sense for them to hit warmer climes and spread themselves out a bit, but they don’t. The most haunted places in the UK apparently, are Bodilly Manor and the First and Last Inn, both in Cornwall. I’m soooo going to Cornwall next time I’m home. Bodilly Manor actually has overnight tours, so you can sleep in the haunted rooms. Eeek! A friend and I were having this discussion a few days ago, and he says he really wants to sleep at a haunted house or hotel, even though he’s scared, which kind of makes sense because imagine the adrenaline rush, knowing you might see something that’d make you piss your pants. THRILLING!

Another place I want to go is Neverland, which is now haunted by Michael Jackson himself! His ghost was caught on tape during a Larry King Live recording… did you see this?! Looks real to me (gulp).

I’ll be continuing my spooky research and eventually, making some firm plans to cross ‘seeing a ghost’ off my wish list. Ghosts are awesome aren’t they! I’d love to know if anyone’s seen one?

4 Responses to “Spooky research and Michael Jackson’s ghost…”

  1. Joly March 8, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    Ah well apparently I saw one a couple of times, though I don’t remember. I was very small, and turned up in my parents’ room claiming there was a lady sitting on the end of my bed. My mum asked if it was a scary lady, and I said no, she was a nice lady, and was promptly sent back to bed. Strange thing was, it happened again, EXACTLY a year later. This time my ma went to check, and of course there was nothing there.

    So, ghost or over-imaginative child? Like I say, I have no idea…

    • Becky Wicks March 8, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

      Wow, that’s amazing!! I had a similar thing where I would feel a cat jumping on my bed at night. Only my cat had died before. Very weird. Could never figure out if I was dreaming or if it really happened though…

  2. shauna825 March 8, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    How funny! I do the same thing. I used to scare myself so bad by looking up ghost stories, I’m obsessed with ghost hunter type shows, and now it’s not as scary as it used to be to me. It’s so interesting. I swear the apartment I lived in in San Diego was haunted because I had one of those touch lamps that only come on with skin contact, I would be the only one in the house, and sleeping and the thing would turn on in my bedroom.

    • Becky Wicks March 8, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

      Wooooah that’s freaky. Lights going on and off is how it always starts in horror films innit!! Lucky you got out when you did 🙂

Leave a Reply

