An Oasis of bad behaviour…

7 Feb

My friends and I have discovered a few little issues with the website Oasis Active, lately. Well, not so much a few little issues with the site itself, rather a few little issues with the men on it. Oh, OK, I KNOW I’ve blogged about this stuff before, and it’s probably my own fault, but seriously, to those who haven’t joined or used it, you don’t know what Oasis is like.

It’s addictive. If one guy doesn’t work out… well, you know, you walk away, pull yourself together and then jump straight back into cyberspace, because there are literally thousands more suitors out there, waiting to be snagged. Aren’t there? No need to lose hope. Maybe the next one will work out. And if it doesn’t… hey, no worries.  You walk away, pull yourself together, and then jump straight back into cyberspace, because there are literally thousands more suitors out there, waiting to be snagged… blah blah blaaaaaaah and so it continues.

Of course, so as not to make things complicated (and having learnt from past mistakes I won’t mention) I usually only deal with one boy at a time. It’s fine to chat and flirt with lots of people, but when you actually start spending time in the real world with one person, it’s best to lay off the site. It’s best to avoid temptation. What’s the point in getting distracted? Relationships are tricky enough as it is.

Unless you’re a boy, of course.

I’ve been seeing a guy I met on Oasis for about four weeks now… just casually you know, getting to know each other. Only yesterday, I got a text from a very good friend of mine, who’s also on Oasis, to say my guy had just “added” her to his “contacts”.

I have several problems with this.

PROBLEM ONE: My guy, under the guise of a man falling for a woman, has gone fishing, behind my back.

PROBLEM TWO: My guy, under the guise of a man falling for a woman, has gone fishing not only for other girls, but for other girls WHO ARE MY FRIENDS.

PROBLEM THREE: My guy happens to have met this girl in the real world. He clearly sat across a table from her the other night, at a social occasion. While I was in the room. They even had a conversation.

PROBLEM FOUR: My guy may not have recognised this girl as my friend when he scanned her photos and requested the beginnings of a beautiful cyber friendship.

PROBLEM FIVE: He may have ABSOLUTELY recognised her as my friend, and requested her friendship anyway.

It seems like some of the boys on Oasis are cramming way too many women in their trolleys at once. Of course, being a very good friend, my girly pal, shocked to see my guy appearing active on the dating site after seeing us together, and even more surprised to find him eyeing her up, called me up and alerted me right away. But what about the girls who aren’t so lucky? Another good mate of mine recently ended a full-on relationship with a guy she met on Oasis, after discovering he was still wooing ladies online nine months into their beautiful love story.

Perhaps it’s too tempting; all those smiley, nubile ladies who love “quiet walks along the beach”, and “playing with my cat”. Part of me is thinking I should just swear off online dating once and for all, really. But not all boys on the Internet are like this, are they? Not every single, horny bloke in Sydney wants to be with/talk to/woo/charm/seduce fifty girls at once, do they, just because they can?

OK, don’t answer that.

 

Leave a Reply

