Photos from the launch party…

4 Feb

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Woweeee, my amazing friend Autumn Mooney did a remarkable job capturing last night. I love that word… remarkable. I don’t use it enough. Check out these piccies! Huge thanks Autumn, you rock!!! Obviously I have removed the ones that make my arms look fat from this selection because I’m a bit vain. OK, a LOT vain, (oh come on, you’d do it too) but I have made a silent note to hit the gym, instead of just talk about hitting the gym, so I think that makes it alright. (Seriously, sorry to go on but why is it just my arms that look big? Does anyone else have this problem? It seems to be just the top bit… you know the bit that looks on the verge of becoming a bingo wing? My wrist is still quite skinny but everything above it just gets gradually bigger and bigger… like it’s being pumped with helium or something. This never used to be the case. Urrrgh. Reminds me of that bit in Friends when fat Monika says she looked big because of the camera, and Chandler goes “How many cameras were on you?!”)

Must be all the late night Pie Face.

Anyway… I digress, it was such a fun night, and in spite of losing my sheets of paper to the gust of wind created by a giant fan, I managed not to say anything too stupid (I think). Lots of wonderful people came, and I do believe I signed about 50 books. That was so strange, by the way. I had a table and everything. At first I couldn’t bring myself to sit in the chair because I felt silly,… like a fake…. like I shouldn’t be scribbling on all these lovely books and ruining them. But people let me, so MASSIVE thanks to everyone for that. And huuuge thanks to Ariel Books, especially to Steven and Julia, who were so hospitable. And everyone from HarperCollins who were just gorgeous as ever, and gave me a very gold and sparkly bottle of champers. Oh and my mummy and daddy sent me some champagne too – how lovely of them. Thanks mummy and daddy.

So yes, I think I have sold about 60 copies so far. To my knowledge. That’s pretty good I think. 60 is better than none. It’s still on the bottom shelf of Dymocks though. Damn them!!!

 

2 Responses to “Photos from the launch party…”

  1. Karen Collum February 4, 2011 at 3:33 am #

    Congrats! So happy your launch went well (in spite of your arms LOL You made me laugh with that bit…mainly because I can relate. Which reminds me…I must find a non-arm-enhancing for my official launch on Feb 13…). It’s a surreal feeling signing books, isn’t it? And I feel like a complete fraud too!! Turns, out we’re not! We are published authors 🙂 Enjoy the experience and may a few more zeros get added to your sales tally.

  2. Becky Wicks February 4, 2011 at 3:49 am #

    Karen!!! Yes it’s so surreal, I felt very odd signing my new siggy in all those books. I had to create a new one because otherwise everyone would be faking my siggy to get my cash out, not that I have any. ANYWAY, where is your launch going to be on Feb 13??

Leave a Reply

