Yesterday, I got stood up…

17 Jan

…Which is not something I’d normally admit to, only it’s never happened to me before. Ever. I thought it only happened in movies, to be honest. I thought people only got stood up in shitty teen dramas, like when it rains on someone’s posh frock as they wait by the garden gate, for a prom date that’ll never arrive.  I didn’t think it happened to people like ME in Bondi. Pah. Do you think he was annoyed that I’m no longer a Scorpio??? I wouldn’t be surprised. I’m annoyed about that myself. Perhaps we both feel cheated.

Anyway, I thought telling everyone would make me feel better, but actually, I can’t help but feel a bit sad now, because almost 24 hours later, I still don’t know what the hell happened to the person I was meant to be meeting.  It’s a bit weird. Of course, I’ve been cancelled on in the past, like everyone else. We’ve all had the last minute “Sorry I can’t make it” text or call. In 2011, the age of instant communication, it’s easy to make an excuse. You just type and press send. You don’t even have to make a stuttering, awkward phone call anymore, or bear the wrath of someone who can’t resist shouting, screaming or calling you a flaky dick (eeew, that didn’t come out right, sorry). Which makes leaving someone standing there, waiting for you like an eejit even worse, doesn’t it? Ugh.

I like the thought that the person in question lost their phone, because they seemed quite keen to meet up when we arranged to, earlier in the day. But then, I know they have my email address/facebook/twitter/mySpace/linkedin/blog links/postal code, so I know they could have reached me anyway. Perhaps there was an alien abduction, a freak bolt of lightning, a chemical explosion? All of those would be more acceptable than the notion that I was stood up (gasp) on purpose.

It’s a horrifying thought isn’t it? All kinds of things flood your brain at times like this. What’s wrong with me? What did I do? What did I say? What didn’t I do? What didn’t I say? Am I not pretty enough? Is my heart too broken? Did I make him laugh? Was I too outspoken? (OK, those aren’t my words, but thanks Kasey Chambers, they’re perfect). Should I have worn more lip-gloss last time we met, brushed my teeth one more time? Did I wear the same shoes I wore for our previous encounter by mistake, leaving the impression that I only have one pair? OH GOD, WHAT!?!?!? Just tell me!!!

Luckily I had other friends with me last night, so it wasn’t just me, standing in the rain, sobbing into my corsage and singing a song about loneliness. That would have been AWFUL. But still, a plan was made and a promise was broken. I wonder if perhaps it’s my dating karma, for the odd occasion I may have ignored a bloke’s text when I knew he wanted to see me again, and I didn’t want to see him. It happens to us all, I suppose. But I’ve learned my lesson. If you don’t want to see someone, type your damn “sorry” and don’t see them. But don’t go all Ronan Keating. In the case of an impending stand-up occurrence, trust me: you definitely don’t say it best when you say nothing at all.

(Sob. Here’s some more Kasey. YOU GO GIRL).

One Response to “Yesterday, I got stood up…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Yesterday, I got stood up… « I've been thinking… -- Topsy.com - January 17, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Gilbert Harding. Gilbert Harding said: Yesterday, I got stood up… http://bit.ly/ig02kc […]

Leave a Reply

