Taking the book to town…

7 Jan

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last night I picked up a very shiny advance copy of Burqalicious – The Dubai Diaries, and it’s now looking slightly crumpled. I didn’t spill any champagne on it… but I did spill some cheap, sparkling ‘Yellow’ wine on it, which was all I could afford. Check out the pics of its first outing! We took it to a lovely teppanyaki restaurant called I Chi Ban in Chinatown, which is fast becoming my fave place to take mates. Then we took it to a bar, and then the cabbie gave it the thumbs up on the way home. He doesn’t know the book’s not entirely favourable towards taxi drivers, clearly, but that’s OK, he’ll never read it anyway.

I was lucky enough to be out on the town with my fabulous friend Hannah, who has supported my writing for the last nine years; ever since we met in New York, in fact. I feel very fortunate that such a great mate could be here for the occasion, which I didn’t even know would be happening till yesterday. Apparently a big box containing 10 equally shiny copies is on its way to me, so I won’t have to dig around in any bargain bins buying books I can’t afford, which is nice. Means I can buy more Yellow wine.

It’s really weird seeing my words in print! It’s different to seeing your work in a magazine, or on a website. It feels kind of scary, like suddenly everyone can judge me! But I suppose we’ll just have to see how it goes. What do you think of the cover? It’s very GOLD isn’t it. But then, I guess Dubai was a bit like that too.

Thanks for all your support, everyone who’s encouraged my writing in the past. I couldn’t and wouldn’t have done it without you! No matter what happens with the book once it hits Aussie shelves in February, today I am very happy.  🙂

xx

 

One Response to “Taking the book to town…”

  1. zskdorset January 9, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    i am SO proud of you Carrie Bradshaw! xxx

Leave a Reply

